Page banner

Consumers Council of Canada News

New Council Committee Chairs Announced

Nov 28, 2019 12:00 AM

Chairs for six Consumers Council of Canada committees were selected at the Council’s Board of Directors meeting November 20. 

Council President Don Mercer, re-elected to that post in July, will chair the Council’s Nominations committee. Other committee chairs named: 

The Membership Committee chair is Dorothy Buchanan, a professional development coordinator for Students, Recruitment and Retention at Brock University. 

The Energy Committee chair is Trevor Shaw, a professional auditor and accountant who holds CPA, CA, CMC and CQA designations and was a Director and then Principal with the Office of the Auditor General of Canada. He is also treasurer of the Consumers Council. 

The Housing Committee chair is Marshall Leslie, whose consulting firm has provided a variety of services – including market research, forecasts and analysis – in the construction industry for more than 30 years. 

The Internet and Telecommunications chair is Evan Leibovitch, who is Director of Community Relations for Linux Professional Institute and former President of the Canadian chapter of the Internet Society. 

The Consumer Representation in Standards Committee chair is Jay Jackson, who is also the Council’s Director of Research and Development. He has more than 35 years experience as a federal government policy analyst dedicated to promoting consumer interests. 




RSS feed


Top of page

Consumers Council of Canada

Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn

© 2016 Consumers Council of Canada