Page banner

Consumers Council of Canada News

New board of directors appointed

Jun 5, 2017 12:00 PM

The Consumers Council of Canada is pleased to announce the appointment of its board of directors for 2017-18 at its annual general meeting held on June 2, 2017.

And the new board of directors re-appointed the following board members to serve as the executive of the Council:

Don Mercer, President

Dennis Hogarth, Vice President

Simon Wong, Secretary

Howard Deane, Treasurer

Joining the board for for the first time is Larry Swartz. Swartz is an award-winning lawyer and CFA Charterholde. He has expertise in independent financial, regulatory compliance, pensions, corporate governance practice. He is a member of the adjunct Faculty at Osgoode Hall Law School, with an emphasis on investments and insurance, administration and risk management, contracts and drafting, restructuring and insolvency, mergers and acquisitions, negotiation and litigation, benefits and tax. His experience includes public sector, financial institutions, and international law.

Two board members from 2016-17 ended their service on the board. The Council's members and board of directors of the Council voted to express special thanks to Aubrey LeBlanc, the Council's immediate past president, for his long service on the Council's board of directors and in executive roles. LeBlanc's service reached the Council's 7-year limit for board members. The Council also thanked Paul Bates for his two terms of service on the board, during which he made several strong contributions to the Council's work.

Other members of the 2016-17 board of directors were re-elected for another one-year term.




RSS feed


Top of page

Consumers Council of Canada

Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn

© 2016 Consumers Council of Canada